Members Menu

Care and Support Assistant AT

If you have experience of caring for young adults with mobility limitations, then you might be just what I’m looking for. I am a quiet, friendly and easy-going 18 year old who needs support with personal care and mobility. I am starting college this year and need help in the mornings getting ready. When I come home I’ll need some help with personal care, but also someone to play board games with, cook and have fun being creative.

I am quite quiet until I get to know you so you will need to be patient and cheerful as we build a rapport. As well as the fun things, you will be supporting me and ensuring my personal safety both when we are inside and outside the home.

This is a permanent position with 20 hours per week during term time and 30 hours per week during holiday time. Cover may be required on weekends occasionally during daytime only. A full driving licence, business insurance and access to a car is essential as you may need to take me for clinic appointments and shopping trips.

To apply please send a CV to PA-Recruitment@s4il.co.uk

___________________________________________

Salary £10 Per Hour.

Location Herefordshire

Hours Flexible by agreement

_____________________________________________

Job details

Personal care.

  • You would be helping me with tasks such as accessing the toilet, bathing and dressing, usually after swimming.

Hobbies and social activities

  • Interacting and participating in my hobbies and interests, such as swimming and cookery.
  • Supporting me on a one to one basis and ensuring I remain occupied and stimulated within the home.
  • Accompanying and supporting me on social outings

Supporting me at various events

  • At times you would be helping me go to various events; to assist with any personal care needs, obtaining drinks and refreshments and taking notes
  • With agreement, coming with me on occasional visits to friends, family and on holidays (I will meet all agreed expenses).

Other small jobs

  • e.g. helping to sort papers and letters

About You

You will need basic maths and literacy knowledge, basic IT skills will also be an advantage. Previous experience of similar work is desirable but not essential, as I will make sure you get the training you need.

You will have both basic cookery and gardening skills and be willing to attend any training needed e.g. first aid, manual handling etc.

You must be able to understand the importance of confidentiality, be patient, calm, be a good communicator and have a good sense of humour.

A good attitude to independence is important to understand a disabled person and their choices

Team work is important as well as being able to work on your own initiative, and have some flexibility to allow for holiday or sickness cover.

You will need to be a car driver/owner and be physically fit enough to undertake any manual handling needed.

Comments are closed.