Members Menu

Care & Support Assistant VM

AreaBobblestock, Hereford
Hours8 hours per week
Rate of pay£8.72

Personal assistant required to support a visually impaired young lady.

8 hours per week plus holiday and sickness cover.

Rate of pay; £8.72 per hour. Driver with own car essential.

Location: Bobblestock area, Hereford


About Me

I am a totally blind lady, looking to employ someone to support me to fulfil day to day activities and tasks independently. No physical support is needed as I am totally mobile. I just need an extra pair of eyes. You must be friendly, honest, trustworthy, patient and reliable. You must like dogs.

Job details

You will be required to do the following tasks and may be asked to carry out other tasks of a similar nature. I will inform you which tasks need carrying out on a particular day.

Housekeeping and gardening

  • Making and changing of beds, cleaning of rooms, dusting, laundry and ironing, etc.
  • Helping me to keep my garden looking nice and tending to my flowers.


  • You would be helping me with shopping and other associated tasks, I would need you to carry bags etc

Preparation and cooking of some meals

  • You do not have to be a fantastic cook. You would need to wash up and leave the kitchen clean & tidy afterwards.


  • Driver required, you are required to have your car available for every shift, as I will need you to take me shopping, to leisure and social activities, and take me and my dog to the vet etc.

Hobbies and social activities

  • Supporting me to continue doing what I enjoy. Obtaining drinks, refreshments, and taking notes etc and with agreement coming with me on occasional visits to friends, family and on holidays (I will meet all agreed expenses).

Other small jobs

  • I will need your assistance with any other jobs that will help me remain independent e.g. helping to read and file papers and letters, as well as completing forms. Administration and financial experience would be a plus.

About You

You will need basic maths and literacy knowledge, basic IT skills will also be an advantage. Previous experience of similar work is desirable but not essential, as I will make sure you get the training you need.

You will have both basic cookery and gardening skills and be willing to attend any training needed e.g. first aid, manual handling etc.

You must be able to understand the importance of confidentiality, be patient, calm, be a good communicator and have a good sense of humour.

A good attitude to independence is important to understand a disabled person and their choices

Team work is important as well as being able to work on your own initiative, and have some flexibility to allow for holiday or sickness cover.

You will need to be a car driver/owner and be physically fit enough to undertake any manual handling needed.

Comments are closed.