Care and Support Assistant – LM

Dedicated Care and Support Assistant needed in Sutton St Nicholas to support a 12-year-old boy with epilepsy, learning difficulties, and autism. I am supported 2:1 as I have complex needs and I am a run risk, so you will need to be able to keep up with me!5 hours per week term time after school, this will be on a Tuesday and one other day to be agreed, and 10 hours per week in the school holidays.

Completed application forms and CV’s can be emailed to PA-Recruitment@s4il.co.uk  Please indicate which vacancy you wish to apply for.

PERSONAL ASSISTANT TO DISABLED CHILD

___________________________________________

Salary £9.50 Per Hour.

Location Sutton St Nicholas

Hours As per contract.

_____________________________________________

About Me

I am a 12 year old boy and I live in Herefordshire with my family. I have epilepsy, learning difficulties, and autistic traits. I enjoy swimming, going to the cinema, animals, and music. You will be supporting me 2:1 with my other PA.

Job details

Personal care.

  • You would be helping me with tasks such as bathing and dressing. You may need to prompt me to use the toilet and ensure that I wash my hands afterwards.

Preparation and cooking of some meals

  • You do not have to be a fantastic cook. You would need to wash up and leave the kitchen clean & tidy afterwards.

Hobbies and social activities

  • Supporting me to continue doing what I enjoy.

Supporting me at various events

  • To assist with any personal care needs, obtaining drinks and refreshments and taking notes.
  • With agreement coming with me on occasional visits to friends, family and on holidays (I will meet all agreed expenses).

Taking me out and about

  • I have little road sense so you will need to ensure I am safe at all times, especially when crossing the road. I can also wander off.
  • I am a run risk so I need to be supervised at all times.
  • You will need to encourage me to use appropriate behaviour when out I public
  • I have little concept of ‘stranger danger’.
  • I have a real love for animals and am always very eager to approach them, you will need to be aware of this.

About You

You will need basic maths and literacy knowledge, basic IT skills will also be an advantage. Previous experience of similar work is desirable but not essential, as I will make sure you get the training you need.

You will have basic cookery skills and be willing to attend any training needed e.g. first aid, manual handling etc.

You must be able to understand the importance of confidentiality, be patient, calm, be a good communicator and have a good sense of humour.

A good attitude to independence is important to understand a disabled person and their choices

Team work is important as well as being able to work on your own initiative, and have some flexibility to allow for holiday or sickness cover.

You will need to be a car driver/owner.

About Direct Payments

Direct payments are available from Local Authorities for people who have a care and support plan in place following a social care assessment. An amount of money is allocated to purchase the assistance and care needed to live independently.

I should stress that my step mum will be your employer and have full responsibility for recruitment, contracts, supervision, pay, training etc. A support service assists her in meeting her responsibilities as an employer.

Salary: This is a flat rate of pay that takes account of unsociable hours and weekend working.

Hours: These are the minimally contracted hours. If I require additional support at other times I will try to give as much notice as possible, an ability to be flexible would be an advantage.

Job Type: Part-time

Salary: £9.50 per hour

Skip to content