Care and Support Assistant – MO

Cheerful and capable care and support assistant needed in Marden to support female wheelchair user with personal and domestic tasks, hobbies, outings and supporting an independent lifestyle. Experience not as important as being friendly and being willing to get stuck in.

I’m a lady in my seventies and use a wheelchair after contracting polio as a child. I need some support with personal care, housekeeping, cooking and being taken to and supported at social events and medical appointments.

Completed application forms and CV’s can be emailed to  Please indicate which vacancy you wish to apply for.

16 hours per week at £9.50 per hour. Driver with own car essential.

Personal Assistant to Disabled Employer


Salary £9.50 Per Hour.

Location Marden

Hours 16.


About Me

I am in my early 70’s and have 2 grown up children who live in Hereford. I currently live approx. 3 miles north of Hereford. Due to Polio when I was 5, I now have to use a wheelchair at all times. I am also experiencing post-polio syndrome, which causes considerable pain at times, plus severe fatigue and weakness. However, I do intend to carry on being in charge of my own life, and would like the personal assistant alongside me as I am very clear about how I like things to be done.

Job details

Personal care.

  • You would be helping me with tasks such as hair washing, and If I am unwell, assisting me as necessary.


  • Making and changing of beds, cleaning of rooms, dusting, laundry and ironing, etc.


  • I would need you to help me out of my vehicle and load and unload wheelchair, bags etc.

Preparation and cooking of some meals

  • You do not have to be a fantastic cook. You would need to wash up and leave the kitchen clean & tidy afterwards.

Supporting me at various events and social activities

  • Driving me and accompanying me to social/business meetings and hospital appointments in order to provide physical assistance as needed, e.g. access to venues, obtaining refreshments, writing brief notes.

Other small jobs

  • e.g. helping to sort papers and letters.

About You

You will need basic maths and literacy knowledge, basic IT skills will also be an advantage. Previous experience of similar work is desirable but not essential, as I will make sure you get the training you need.

You will have both basic cookery and gardening skills and be willing to attend any training needed e.g. first aid, manual handling etc.

You must be able to understand the importance of confidentiality, be patient, calm, be a good communicator and have a good sense of humour.

A good attitude to independence is important to understand a disabled person and their choices

Team work is important as well as being able to work on your own initiative, and have some flexibility to allow for holiday or sickness cover.

You will need to be a car driver/owner and be physically fit enough to undertake any manual handling needed.

About Direct Payments

Direct payments are available from Local Authorities for people who have a care and support plan in place following a social care assessment. An amount of money is allocated to purchase the assistance and care needed to live independently.

I should stress that I will be your employer and have full responsibility for recruitment, contracts, supervision, pay, training etc. A support service assists me in meeting my responsibilities as an employer.

Salary: This is a flat rate of pay that takes account of unsociable hours and weekend working.

Hours: These are the minimally contracted hours. If I require additional support at other times I will try to give as much notice as possible, an ability to be flexible would be an advantage.

Job Type: Part-time

Salary: £9.50 per hour

Edit job


Skip to content