Members Menu

Care and Support Assistant

AreaStoke Prior
Hours6
Closing date10 Jun 2021
Rate of pay£10
ReferenceST

Part Time Care and Support Assistant needed in Stoke Prior.

Personal Assistant needed in Stoke Prior, just 10 miles outside of Leominster to assist young lady with Downs Syndrome with social activities and hobbies.

Approx. 6 hours per week made up of 3-hour shifts 2 times per week, preferably weekend afternoons OR a Thursday

I would like a PA to keep me entertained in the home by playing games, doing puzzles, and reading with me. I have a big passion for music so if you play any musical instrument that would be a big plus!

Rate of pay £10 per hour.

To apply please send a CV to PA-recruitment@s4il.co.uk indicating which position you are applying for. 

Personal Assistant to Disabled Employer

_____________________________________________

Salary                 £10 Per Hour.

Location             Stoke Prior, outside of Leominster

Hours                  6 hours per week

_____________________________________________

About Me

I am a 18-year-old girl and I live in Herefordshire with my parents. I have Downs Syndrome and associated learning difficulties. I would like a PA to help do some puzzles, play some board games, listen to music, watch a movie, make some tea. If you play an instrument that is a major plus because we can play together in the music room. I am looking to start an Instagram account about my musical history and aspirations.  However, I do not own a smartphone and would love if someone has a lap top or smart phone that we can register and get going, do posts, etc

My speech is somewhat limited, but I can understand most of what is being said to me

Job details

Housekeeping

  • You would be assisting me with some domestic tasks for example keeping my bedroom tidy.

Preparation and cooking of some meals

  • You do not have to be a fantastic cook. You would need to wash up and leave the kitchen clean & tidy afterwards.

Hobbies and social activities

  • Supporting me to continue doing what I enjoy.
  • To assist with any personal care needs, obtaining drinks and refreshments and taking notes.
  • With agreement coming with me on occasional visits to friends, family and on holidays (I will meet all agreed expenses).

Other small jobs

  • e.g. helping to sort papers and letters

About You

You will need basic maths and literacy knowledge, basic IT skills will also be an advantage. Previous experience of similar work is desirable but not essential, as I will make sure you get the training you need.

You will have both basic cookery and gardening skills and be willing to attend any training needed e.g. first aid, manual handling etc.

You must be able to understand the importance of confidentiality, be patient, calm, be a good communicator and have a good sense of humour.

A good attitude to independence is important to understand a disabled person and their choices

Teamwork is important as well as being able to work on your own initiative, and have some flexibility to allow for holiday or sickness cover.

You will preferably need to be a car driver/owner and be physically fit enough to undertake any manual handling needed.

About Direct Payments

Direct payments are available from Local Authorities for people who have a care and support plan in place following a social care assessment. An amount of money is allocated to purchase the assistance and care needed to live independently.

I should stress that my mother will be your employer and have full responsibility for recruitment, contracts, supervision, pay, training etc.  A support service assists me in meeting my responsibilities as an employer.

Salary: This is a flat rate of pay that takes account of unsociable hours and weekend working.

Hours: These are the minimally contracted hours. If I require additional support at other times I will try to give as much notice as possible, an ability to be flexible would be an advantage.

Comments are closed.